Skip to main content


Vote for SEIU endorsed candidates

October 7, 2022

Mark your ballot early and make sure to return it before Nov. 8.

We all know that politics plays a huge role in our jobs and our lives. The countdown to November’s election is on and our local, state and national One Voice process has identified our priority candidates who will support working people.

Federal (Congress) US Senator: Alex Padilla CD 48: Stephen Houlahan CD 49: Mike Levin CD 51: Sara Jacobs CD 52: Juan Vargas Statewide Governor: Gavin Newsom Lt Governor: Eleni Kounalakis Atty General: Rob Bonta Secretary of State: Shirley Weber Insurance Commissioner: Ricardo Lara Superintendent: Tony Thurmond Controller: Malia Cohen Treasurer: Fiona Ma State Assembly, Senate AD 74: Chris Duncan AD 76: Brian Maienschein AD 77: Tasha Boerner-Horvath AD 78: Chris Ward AD 79: Akilah Weber SD 18: Steve Padilla SD 38: Catherine Blakespear SD 40: Joe Rocha Countywide (San Diego) Supervisor D4: Nathan Fletcher Supervisor D5: Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson Assessor/Recorder/Clerk: Barbara Bry Treasurer/Tax Collector: Dan McAllister City of Carlsbad D1: Sam Ward D3: Priya Bhat-Patel City of Chula Vista Mayor: Ammar Campa-Najjar D1: Carolina Chavez D2: Jose Preciado City of Encinitas Mayor: Tony Kranz D3: Joy Lyndes D4: Pamela Redela City of Escondido Mayor: Paul McNamara D1: Consuelo Martinez D2: Jeff Griffith City of Imperial Beach Mayor: Paloma Aguirre D1: Jen Crumley D3: Anna Webb City of La Mesa City Council: Patricia Dillard City Council: Mejgan Afshan City of Lemon Grove City Council: Jennifer Mendoza City Council: Allyson Snow City of National City Mayor: Jose Rodriguez D1: Luz Molina D3: Ditas Yamane City of Oceanside D1: Eric Joyce D2: Dan Dominguez City of San Diego D2: Jen Campbell D4: Monica Montgomery Steppe D6: Kent Lee Planning Commision D8: Shane Parmely City of San Marcos Mayor: Randy Walton D1: Maria Nunez D2:Jay Petrek City of Vista Mayor: Cipriano Vargas D4: Dan O’Donnell Superior Court Seat 35: Rebecca Kant Seat 36: Peter Singer Education Brawley Union High Yulil Alonzo Garza Carlsbad Unified Area 5: Kathy Rallings Chula Vista Elementary Seat 1: Francisco Tomayo Seat 3: Leslie Bunker Seat 5: Cesar Fernandez Grossmont Cuyamaca College Area 1: Desiree Klaar Area 2: Debbie Justeson Area 5: Brad Monroe Imperial Valley College District 7: Erik Ortega Oceanside Unified School D1: Nancy Licona Palomar College Board Area 1: Judy Patacsil Area 4: Kartik Raju Area 5: Norma Miyamoto Board of Education D3: Alicia Munoz D5: Rick Shea Community College  District A: Maria Nieto Senour District C: Craig Milgrim District E: Geysil Arroyo SD Unified School District District B: Shana Hazan District C: Cody Petterson San Dieguito Union High D5: Julie Bronstein South Bay Union School District Area 1: Kelly Leiker Area 2: Jose Lopéz Eugenio Southwestern Community College 4: Mae Case 5: Don Dumas Sweetwater Union High  D1: Arturo Solis D3: Elva Lopéz-Zepeda D5: Marti Emerald Vista Unified Seat 2: Rena Morocco Vista Unified High Seat 2: Martha Alvarado Community Planning Spring Valley Chris Pearson Fire Protection District North SD County District 1: Ross Pike Water District Otay Division 3: Gary Croucher Helix D2: Andrea Beth Damsky

As Black, White, Asian and Latino workers who provide vital services and care, we work hard to keep our communities going. That is why it is critical to vote again this November to elect leaders who will fight to lower costs for working people and make corporations pay what they owe. SEIU  Local 221 members participated in our Union’s extensive endorsement process to choose these candidates who will work with us —​ for our families and our neighborhoods. Will you sign up for two or more volunteer opportunities?

We will have political walks every Saturday in October and early November. We also will have remote phone banking on Mondays until Election Day.

Join us to elect people who will support workers and invest in our next generation.